Posted on June 2, 2017 by Jorie Helms


Builder Ken LaRoe was honored last year with a Platinum award for “Carolina,” a one-of-a-kind home in Robbinsville, N.C.

Among the accolades residential designers and developers strive for, one distinguishes them as industry leaders better than all the rest: a Best in American Living™ Award (BALA).

Today is the first day applicants can submit their entries for the building industry’s premier residential design awards program. BALA spotlights the most creative and talented professionals who have redefined design excellence for homes and communities nationally and internationally.

There are more than 50 categories ranging from custom homes to student housing to historic preservation, and there’s a place for your project in one of eight main groups:

  • Single-Family Production
  • Single-Family Custom
  • Multifamily
  • Affordable Housing
  • Remodeling
  • Community
  • Interior Design
  • Specialty

What’s New:

  • 55+ Housing categories now appear in single-family production, multifamily and community in an effort to better recognize this market.
  • Interior Design categories have been expanded. Although interior design is a component of the judging process for most entries, having designated interior design categories gives designers an opportunity to showcase specific rooms and details within the home.
  • International projects can be entered into the new Category 51: International Housing.
  • The Game Changer category description has been updated to provide better clarity to applicants: Submissions should showcase innovation and have the ability to significantly influence the residential design and housing industry over the next five years. Both individual projects and products are eligible to receive this award, including but not limited to new home design concepts, new types of site development, and innovations in products and interior design. Submissions must enhance the experience of residents. As an example, the 2016 Game Changer is Centriq.

BALA winners receive year-long exposure through multiple outlets. Winners are also honored at a prestigious ceremony during the 2018 NAHB International Builders’ Show in Orlando.

To enter:

  1. Go to to send in your registration form and fees.
  2. Gather and upload your supporting materials, such as photos and videos.
  3. Submit your completed entries by Sept. 1.
Share and Enjoy :

Bottom Right Advertisement